Skip to main content

Style El Dorado County Foothills

School Board Members Throughout El Dorado County Honored

03/11/2015 12:01PM ● By Steven Jack

Photo provided by the El Dorado County Office of Education

Every year, the El Dorado County School Boards Association takes a moment to recognize the outstanding work done by members who sit on the district school boards throughout the county. On March 2, awards were presented in five different categories:

Educational Statesmanship: John Parker, Mother Lode Union School District. Board members serve endless hours in a variety of ways that enrich and improve the educational experience for all students, including advocating for public education in the community. 

Leader in Boardsmanship: Kevin Brown, El Dorado Union High School District. Board members bring unique skills, values and beliefs to their board. In order to govern effectively, individuals must work with each other and the superintendent to ensure that a high-quality education is provided to each student.

Outstanding Community Member/Organization: Individual Community Member - Rebecca Clark, Placerville Union School District; Nancy Rollston, Lake Tahoe Unified School District. Community Organization - Pioneer Volunteer Firefighters, Pioneer Union School District; Carlan Meyer, El Dorado County Agriculture, El Dorado Union High School District. Members of the community, from individuals to corporations, serve a significant role in the delivery of educational services in schools. These steadfast contributors of valuable resources of time and financial support realize that educating a child is, indeed, the business of everyone.

Dolores Garcia Memorial Spirit of Boardsmanship: Heidi Weiland, El Dorado County Office of Education. This award was named after Dolores Garcia who passed away in October 2012.  Dolores served as a trustee on the El Dorado Union High School District Board from 1975 through 1983, and was then elected to the El Dorado County Board of Education in 1996 for a combined total of 23 years of serving as a school board member in El Dorado County. This award recipient demonstrates exemplary performance in leadership, service, community relations and advocacy with current knowledge on educational trends and legislation.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Sue Novasel, Lake Tahoe Unified School District. This award is given to outgoing/retiring board members to recognize their contributions during their career as a trustee.  Board members must have served at least eight years on a school district or county office board.  

Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (AD 5) also attended and gave Assembly Certificates of Recognition to the award recipients.

“We are proud of all of those who take their personal time to help deliver high-quality education in our school districts and county,” Superintendent of Schools Jeremy M. Meyers said. “The role of the school board member is vital to our schools and ultimately our students – the future of our country.”

Provided by the El Dorado County Office of Education

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to the Style - El Dorado County free newsletter to stay informed